lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-28-2017, 05:36 PM   #1
Godfather1960
Gone Wild

Default Charging new batteries

Hi all just bought new Trojan batteries and noticed the charger stops at 5 amps ...is this normal im new to this..Thanks

2012 Club Car President 48volt
Godfather1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-28-2017, 06:45 PM   #2
NoleFan4Ever
MOD of all BS!

Club Car

Default Re: Charging new batteries

Meaning it quit? Or it is still charging at 5 amps?

Give your self a lot of time with new batteries. You will need to be sure you run them down to ~50% and then recharge 10 - 12 times before you break them in and they start charging and operating as they should. Including up to 16 hours of charging on a new set....
NoleFan4Ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2017, 08:26 PM   #3
mrgolf
Old Sky Soldier

Club Car

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoleFan4Ever View Post

Give your self a lot of time with new batteries. You will need to be sure you run them down to ~50% and then recharge 10 - 12 times before you break them in and they start charging and operating as they should. Including up to 16 hours of charging on a new set....
I thought you didn't want to run new batteries below 80 percent, and broken in batteries below 50 percent.
mrgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2017, 10:05 PM   #4
NoleFan4Ever
MOD of all BS!

Club Car

Nah, the first ~10-12 cycles, try to go to ~50% or thereabouts to season in the batteries. This helps saturate and build up the charge capabilities within the plates. Click on the attached and select Open With...

Battery Guide.pdf
Old 08-29-2017, 05:19 AM   #5
Godfather1960
Gone Wild

Quote: