lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-12-2020, 09:40 AM   #1
Njjacobs
Not Yet Wild

Default 2004 Electric DS “series” model- enough power?

Hi everyone. I am pretty new to the golf cart world and looking to buy. I found a 2004 Club Car DS 48v and really like the retro style compared to all the others I’ve seen. After doing research, I think it is a “series” model with a forward/reverse lever. Do these modes have less power/speed and is it possible/easy to adjust speed? I test drove it thinking I was ready to buy, but it felt very slow. The seller said it was normal speed for these models. Also, my neighborhood is very hilly and I have concern on the power. Any help or advise is much appreciated. I posted a pic. Thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1EB7A0C1-F949-4758-BEC9-ED99D2F5ED4A.jpg (4.7 KB, 0 views)
Njjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-12-2020, 11:19 AM   #2
fsu1tm
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: 2004 Electric DS “series” model- enough power?

Since it has a F/R lever, you have a series cart (as opposed to a sepex). Series carts are known for more torque and less speed. Sepex are the opposite. If you have hills, that series cart will be great. You just won't take them very fast.
fsu1tm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 11:31 AM   #3
Njjacobs
Not Yet Wild

#fau1gm
Thanks for the feedback. That’s good to know about the torque. I didn’t have a speedometer to check speed but fleet super slow. It also has brand new batteries just installed, so could that make it slower before they are “broken in”? If I did want more speed on this “series” cart, would replacing the original motor be the only way?
Old 05-12-2020, 12:24 PM   #4
Jake_Daddy
Gone Wild

Club Car