lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-17-2020, 09:30 PM   #1
sgarcia
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Smile My story and a few questions.

Hi everyone

This is my first post other than my introduction. Sorry if it’s a bit lengthy. I’m new to the Golf Cart world. Acquired a Club Car DS with a home purchase. Its a 98 model year A9840-xxxxxx. I don’t have much history other than it was running when it was last parked. It appears it hasn’t ran in several years. It didn’t look abused as the overall condition looked way above average, needless to say it needed some TLC as the tires were all flat, the batteries were all corroded and such. Not willing to drop $1400 on a new battery set if there happened to be other issues, I elected to try and salvage the batteries. So with that said, I removed and cleaned everything with baking soda and water. Instead of adding water to the batteries, I chose to refill the batteries with acid, as all the batteries were way low. I cleaned the rest of the electricals with electrical contact cleaner, as all the micro switches and other terminals just looked real dirty having not being used. I reassembled everything and hooked up the charger. The charger snapped to life and the current draw was high. Not knowing how the charger/charging system worked the next morning it was still charging so I unplugged the charger and let things cool down as the charger was warm as were the batteries (now that I down loaded the operators manual and the charging manual I have a better understanding how the whole system works). Checked the specific gravity with one of those cheap ball hydrometers and the reading was fully charged. The golf cart sprang to life. Drove it around the block a few times just to get our confidence up incase it died on us. So far so good