lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-17-2013, 08:41 AM   #1
miamibankerguy
Not Yet Wild

Default G29 gas - How to make faster

My first post, great forum and thanks in advance to all.

New to me G29 gas, bone stock, hits 14mph on the GPS but can feel the governor totally supressing it. I am not a great mechanic, but have friends that are!

I would like to adjust the governor and have found many posts on how to do so, but not many for the G29. I also just read about putting a zip tie on it, any thoughts?

I don't need to go super fast, but would love to pick up a few more mph, any advice?

Thanks!
miamibankerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-17-2013, 08:54 AM   #2
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Default Re: G29 gas - How to make faster

the zip tie trick works great, plus you can remove it easily. if you follow the throttle cable back to the transmission, you will find the governor bracket. it has a threaded rod with a 10mm nut on it, you can either tighten the nut all the way down, or.install a zip tie that holds the spring tighter giving the same effect. this will get you about 18-19 mph top speed. i'll post a pic of the governor arm later.
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 02:25 PM   #3
miamibankerguy
Not Yet Wild

Thanks, much appreciated!
Old 06-17-2013, 08:11 PM   #4
cgtech

Yamaha

here is a pic of a quick zip tie job on a YDRA (G29). This can be done from under the seat, but is much easier if you remove the rear cover (the angle from where the photo was taken). DO NOT flip the spring like the old days. if you have no idea what "flip the spring" is, then dont worry about it, it would only cause you heartache later ($$$).
Attached Images