lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-19-2015, 11:12 AM   #1
NewHillBilly
Not Yet Wild

Default 1983 Gas EzGo Marathon newbie

Hi everyone! I am new to this forum and I just got a 1983 gas Marathon. I just rebuilt the top end of the motor because I had 30psi compression and it wouldn't start. The piston was cracked and scored badly. I put it all back together yesterday and it's running.
I'm enjoying reading all your posts and threads and learning but I am new to carts so I have some stupid questions.

When I got it running yesterday the motor was smoking a little and I was worried that it was too hot. It didn't feel too hot, so I'm hoping it was grease and degreaser and whatnot burning off from rebuilding it.

When I put the exhaust back together the headline that goes into the muffler can slide in and out of the muffler. I'm guessing this isn't normal. It's also quite loud.

The cart was kind of disappointingly slow. I checked the brakes to see if the were binding up, and I'm pretty sure the brake cables need replaced. I had to beat the one drum off viciously. I disconnected the brake cables but the shoes are still in so they may still be binding some.

I've read quite a few threads on clutches and belts on here and I'm starting to understand a little, but for starters, what do I look for or at to see if my clutches are in good working order?

I saw one guy posted about a different carb and muffler increasing 2hp. I'd like to start with doing things like that and really learn this cart thing:-)

I don't see an oil injector anywhere...there is two cycle in the tank. It's what was in there when I got it.

Headlights would be nice:-)

By the way, I'm in Columbia Station, OH if there's anyone close.

Can't wait to read some replies.
Thanks!