lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-26-2017, 11:14 PM   #1
Darkside
Not Yet Wild

Default 2004 Western (TXT) Controller Melted and possible engine damage

Howdy all,

This is my first time to post, but I have been lurking around all year since i just bought this barely used cherry red Western, with built-in cooler lol.

It runs on 42V (7 6V batteries), not sure if Western added that 7th battery or the original owner. The speed controller (1205) was rated for 36V, as is the Motor (bd5-4001a)

Let me start with the best part of the story: I was driving 6 beautiful women around my farm during a party, with a mission to feed people pizza. Not give them pizza, but for one of the fine young ladies to stick a slice in your mouth type thing. It was glorious. They were packed in; a few on the hood and few sprawled across the back, so i was driving VERY SLOW as not to dump the precious cargo.

This is where the trouble began. I remember smelling some melty/electrical smells that night. I understand that creeping the cart at low speeds with all that weight, especially on an 36V juiced up to 42V, is a bad move. The batteries were almost discharged by the next day, so I took it to the shop and plugged it in. I didnt turn off the key or put on the brake...

I came back the next day and it had taken off during recharging and run off the back of my carport, there is a 16" drop off the slab and it was hung up there. Looked inside and saw that the controller was melted at the top, and the cables coming off M- and A2 had melted their sheathing off (not 4awg wire, they were 6awg) The Orange pin connection was loose/melted as well.

I just replaced the controller with a 48V version that fit the same model. I replaced the melted wires with 4 awg as well.