lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-14-2011, 10:57 PM   #1
Jeff D
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Red face Electric to gas conversion

I just bought a 96' electric txt ezgo. I have 2 other gas carts (yamaha, shuttlecraft) The honda gx250 is a great motor in the shuttlecraft. The ezgo needs batteries and thats gonna be about $600. I can get a new gx250 gas motor for $350. I was wondering if it's a better idea or possible to convert this to a gas motor. Is there a kit or something somewhere(throttle, choke, gas tank, rear axle, etc...)? I am a mechanic/Tech and can see it possible but wondered if there is anyone that has done this before that can point me in the right direction for parts, etc...
Jeff D is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-14-2011, 11:44 PM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Electric to gas conversion

Welcome to bgw. The general consensus is don't do it. You will be into the conversion more than the cost of batteries and if it ever does run, (many never do), it will be underpowered. You are better off selling what you got and buying a gas cart.
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 12:17 AM   #3
Quinn
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

I Agree with Scotty, by the time your done with it those batteries would have been a wise investment.
Quinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 03:53 PM   #4
Jeff D
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Thumbs up Re: Electric to gas conversion