lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-24-2011, 12:49 AM   #1
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Questions to satisfy my curiosity more than anything else.

I'm a Newbie to both Forum and Golf Carts, but I've been known to use tools and test equipment without damaging things too badly, or having too many parts left over.
I've had a 2008 Ez-Go TXT PDS w/Freedom plug, for a week and all I know about it, I've acquired directly, or indirectly, through this forum.

I'm sure some or all of these questions have been answered in the past, but I haven't found them in my searches.

1. What are the pros and cons on increasing wheel diameter? More speed - less torque - higher current requirements - more heat in motor.

2. What is the largest diameter wheel/tire that can be installed on a stock TXT without installing lift kit and/or motor/controller/battery pack (48v vs stock 36v) upgrades?

3. Are higher ampacity 36v controllers available that retain regen braking?

4. Has anyone tried putting switches in the jumper wires on J2 so the PDS modes can be changed without actually changing plugs?
(I don't think reprogramming the PDS controller on the fly would be a good idea, but I would like the option of preselecting the PDS mode to match the terrain/roads I'll be traveling on.)

5. Does anyone have a good source for Stainless Steel (or other rust resistant) hardware?
(Specifically - I'm looking for U-Bolts, or something similar, to install a seatbelt bracket rather than boring holes in the seatback brace, thereby weakening it IMO.)

PS - The end goal is a Safe, Comfortable, Docile and nice looking cart for a couple of senior citizens to drive around the neighborhood in.

Last edited by JohnnieB; 06-24-2011 at 12:59 AM.. Reason: added PS