lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-09-2011, 12:55 PM   #1
cbordea
Getting Wild

Default 91 EZGo won't go.

I recently bought a 91 EZGo for $300. The previous owner said it is a Marathon but the label says Textron.

The previous owner said it was working fine in August but his wife hooked up the charger backwards and fried one of the batteries. I can see the battery is bad, the terminal post is melted and the case is cracked.

He told me that I should be able to put one battery in and be good to go. After a little research here, I see the batteries are 8 years old. I tried charging some of them individually just for kicks but getting mixed results.
I know I need 6 new batteries.

I'm completely new to carts but have read through many of the stickies the past few days and am generally a good troubleshooter and I have a meter.

The cart has some rust in the battery tray but I can build a new one if I can't salvage this one. I don't want to buy 6 new batteries and find out there are more expensive problems lurking. I would search but I don't even know terminology well enough to search.

Looking over the diagrams, below is the closest one to my cart.

I spoke to a cart dealer who said I could basically use jumper cables from a neighbor's cart to see if mine would work. It got me to thinking, I should be able to use 3 12V batteries to see if it works. I wired my 3 12V Marine batteries in series and hooked everything up. My onboard gauge is reading at Full.

There are two heavy wires that run from the pos of batt one and the neg of battery 6(or 3 in my case). They run to a module under the seat (where A2, B+ and B- are).
The "gas" pedal has a rod that connects there as well.
When I turn the key I hear a noise in that module.
What is that module called?