lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-05-2016, 05:28 PM   #1
steve_empire@yahoo.com
Not Yet Wild

Default No spark on my 88 Marathon...

I've been driving this cart for about 5 years and never had a problem, drove up to the house and went inside, came back out and the engine would not start, it just cranks over. Plenty of fuel, so I checked the plug and found no spark. I can hold on to the bottom of the new spark plug with my fingers and crank the motor over and nothing, not the slightest fire. Fuses are good, plug wire looks good, took it out of the coil and put it back in. Test light shows power to the coil when stepping on the starter pedal.

Where do I go from here? Can someone explain how the ignitor and pulsar and coil works on this cart? How do I test these ignition components?

I hope I'm in the right forum...

Steve
steve_empire@yahoo.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-06-2016, 11:48 AM   #2
racin161
Gone Wild

Default Re: No spark on my 88 Marathon...

Welcome to BGW Steve yes your in the right forum. If you see the red and blue wires coming from the pulsar you'll see a plug between the pulsar and the igniter. Disconnect it and make sure it's clean and secure when connected. First thing to check!!! Then remove the coil wire again and cut about a 1/4 inch off and reinstall it. See where this goes ??? I've seen where it's possible to check the value of the pulsar but I don't know the values. As for as the igniter there is no known test as for as I know. Try all of the above then lets see what happens.

LOU
racin161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 11:41 PM   #3
TomStark
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve_empire@yahoo.com View Post