lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-12-2012, 12:36 PM   #1
RSDennison
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Cool 98 Club Car 48 volt needs help on hills

Hi, I am new to golf carts in general and this forum specifically. It's a 98 CC with all new batteries and upgraded wiring, it seems OK on flats but any hills really slow it down dramatically. Even the slopes in my yard slow it to almost nothing and I would like enough power/torque to pull the hills reasonably. My question is this, is there an option to change the overall gearing, or must I invest in controller/motor upgrades. If so what would be the most economical way to get better performance on hills. I am not interested in overall speed increase so used parts from a different more HD unit might be a good option. Any help will be greatly appreciated
RSD
RSDennison is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-12-2012, 05:18 PM   #2
JohnDaMan
Getting Wild
Club Car

Default Re: 98 Club Car 48 volt needs help on hills

My stock motor on stock tires was pretty terrible on the hills as well. I think a motor or controller upgrade is needed
JohnDaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:48 PM   #3
lmswest
Gone Wild

There's plenty of motor options that don't require a controller upgrade...pq d&d and admiral make a motor that doesn't.
lmswest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:51 PM   #4
Fishing Dude
Gone Wild

Club Car

Go green Buy a horse
Fishing Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:30 PM   #5
RSDennison
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

A local dealer wants me to come test drive a newer RXV, anyone familiar with this model? How would it stack up against my 98 ?
RSDennison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:39 PM   #6
JohnDaMan