lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-06-2023, 11:03 AM   #1
PAKiTUP
Not Yet Wild

Default 2004 Club Car DS 48V F&R switch

Hello, I am very new to golf carts and just picked up my first Club Car DS 48 volt electric cart. I bought it from a friend and was told everything is fine with it. I drove it around a few times and no issues. I got it to my campground and after a day of use it started hesitating going forward or reverse.

Initially I thought it was the batteries. They are from 2016. I topped off the batteries with distilled water, cleaned all the connectors and terminals, and ran a load test. All the batteries were still testing good. I charged the cart and tried to go for a ride the next day. Same issue.

I started researching and thought maybe it was the speed sensor, so I left camp that weekend and went home and bought a speed sensor. I return back to camp after a week and go to pull out the cart, suddenly its working fine again. I drove it around all day and no issues. It really didn't have any problems until I started going from reverse to forward. One of the guys at camp said the forward/reverse switch could be going bad since its not fully engaging. The switch looks a little burnt too.