lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-05-2015, 12:55 AM   #1
TTB
Not Yet Wild

Club Car

Default 2001 Club car DS rear transaxle oil change

I've never done this rear end oil change and was wondering if any of you had ever posted/commented about it.........I've heard to use synthetic, not to use synthetic etc. Any help as to what to use as well as any possible pics etc of the process would be greatly appreciated. I assume you use some sort of tube to fill? I am not very mechanical so please excuse me. Lol
TTB is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-25-2015, 04:42 PM   #2
Cruise Master
Gone Wild
Club Car

Default Re: 2001 Club car DS rear transaxle oil change

I'm new to carts, but I just did mine a few days ago on a new to me 06 CC DS. You need a 3/4 inch 6 sided socket. I had a spark plug socket that worked perfect. Take out the top plug first, nothing worst then draining a rear end only to find out the fill plug is unmovable. The drain plug will have a magnet in it to catch any metal filings. Wipe that clean before installing it in the same hole.

I followed the CC manual and used SAE 30 old school dino. The hose thing seemed way too much like work, so instead I used a pump that screws onto an oil bottle meant to fill the lower end of an outboard motor. You can buy them at Wal-Mart or any hardware store for about $10. Took almost a full quart of oil before it would run out the fill hole.

YMMV, but I jacked up the driver side slightly to overfill it. I noticed that it was overfilled from the factory when I pulled the drain plug. So when it was on the bench must have been when they put oil in it. I was very surprised at how dirty the oil was that came out of the rear end.

Good luck.
Cruise Master is offline   Reply With Quote