lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-30-2010, 12:58 AM   #1
tierhog
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default 1987 marathon bottom end tore up

So my cart has been running rough. bogging on the bottom end. back firing. low power. Acted like it was flooding. It had 125 compression. I couldn't figure it out. rebuilt the carb. You name it i did it. Finally broke down and pulled the engine. I have never worked on one of these before. A lot of 2 strokes in cycles but never a Robin engine. Anyway. when I pulled the fan and balancer to check the seal. I saw twisted metal fragments under the balancer. I then noticed the crank seal had the copper or brass part in place but no rubber in it at all. I thought oh there is my problems (leaking out the crank). I pulled the seal to order new ones. Then I noticed where the twisted metal frags. came from. the bearing had all the balls on one side of the bearing and no spacers between the balls and the crank moved up and down about a eighth of an inch. My question is how did this thing run and how did it not throw that rod or seriously damage this engine. I am lucky i guess. Has anyone else saw this before on an 87 2pg. My other question is could I get away with just putting in new bearings and seals and leave the top end alone since i have 125 comp???? Or should I just rebuild the whole thing and be safe. Has anyone just reringed one and not put new jug and piston in. Trying to save some money on this as the wife is pissed about how much i spend on golf as is.. thanks for any comments or advice
tierhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-30-2010, 06:13 AM   #2
madoc1
no clue

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 1987 marathon bottom end tore up