lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-08-2019, 06:34 PM   #1
Justin8207
Not Yet Wild

Default G22E Won’t Move

I’m new to the golf cart world. I bought a 2007 G22E from Craigslist that was advertised as needing batteries. I’m an mechanical engineer by trade, so I figured it would be no problem. I was wrong... I installed the batteries in series per the manual specifications and when powered up the solenoid clicks on and then off. So here is a list of checks I’ve done so far to no avail. Any advice would be much appreciated.

1. Checked new battery voltage. 49.9v total.

2. Checked solenoid when powered up. When it clicks on briefly I get .3 ohms, 49.9v across terminals. Jumped negative signal wire to ensure solenoid worked on command.

3. Checked for continuity between controller wire harness and solenoid signal terminals. It checked out.

4. Checked ignition switch, forward/reverse switch, tow switch, stop switch, and throttle sensor. All were at proper voltage/resistance.

5. Checked motor. It’s a 2015 regen from advanced motors and drives. I looked up how to bypass the controller and test using the batteries. It wouldn’t turn using 8v. Hooked it to 24v and got the motor turning. I watched it for a minute or so and it started to smoke a little. The guy I bought it from said it have been sitting for 2 years. I took the motor out and looked for anything suspicious or burned. Everything looked to be in great shape, I’m not sure what cause the smoke. Maybe dust?