lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-20-2014, 06:10 PM   #1
PcolaKB
Not Yet Wild

Default Throttle all or none

Got the kit from Don. Had everything working good with the governor drill out, etc., but I had a backfire so I pulled the air box and noticed the throttle cable was not pushing the spring all the way back, i assume leaving it open. So I started playing with the 10mm adjustment nut on the gov to see if that would let it close before I added a spring. I had let the governor back out after the mods because the cart was lurching, this corrected it. I assumed I had done it too much or something, causing the backfire.
I got it back to the bucking and lurching and figured this was good, now go back the other direction with the nut. I can't find a sweet spot. Took the air box back off, throttle does not seem to be pulling open when pedal is depressed but it runs wide open. Any let off and it bucks, so it's all or none.
Hoping one of you gurus can save me some time.
It's a 2009 Drive. Thanks in advance.
PcolaKB is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-20-2014, 06:25 PM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: Throttle all or none

So, before you installed the kit/did the work, was the cart running good?

I'm not familiar with your particular cart, but I don't think the governor mod will make the cart backfire. Did you do any airbox mods? It sounds like it's not running correctly to me, not in tune. This would be independent of the governor.
slonomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 06:32 PM   #3
PcolaKB
Not Yet Wild