lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-18-2021, 10:38 PM   #1
DirtaySteve
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default 85 ezgo Marathon fuel/power issue

I am still new to this, but here are my issues.

85 Marathon 2PG, was having major power loss issues going uphill on even the slightest incline, to the point it would stop running. found fuel in the bottom of the air box. Replaced the carb and its running much better but I still have a power loss, just not as dramatic and I am still finding fuel in the bottom of the air box.

On flat surface with one person in it, it will get up to speed no problem, even with the back loaded with 60 plus pounds of tools. However when a second passenger is in it struggles with inclines of any degree.

Not sure where to start with this one.

Any help would be appreciated.
DirtaySteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-19-2021, 09:46 AM   #2
cart around
Test before replacing

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 85 ezgo Marathon fuel/power issue

I don't like that there is fuel in the air cleaner. Fuel moving in the wrong direction indicates too much backpressure from the engine. An easy fix could be a clogged muffler. It could also be reed valves not sealing properly.

Ignoring an engine problem, let's look at other possible causes for loss of power as you describe.

How wide is your drive belt?
1 3/16" is new. Anything less than an inch is junk.

Remove the drive belt from the driven clutch. Try to squeeze the plates together with your hand. You shouldn't get any movement. If you can make the plates lean towards each other with your hand, it's time for a new clutch.