lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-18-2016, 08:17 AM   #1
timogsu
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default New Cart to Me - Electrical/Charging Issues

So over the weekend I picked up a 2004 Yamaha 48V Electric Cart. I love the cart but I'm already seeing a couple of issues on it. I'm also new to the golf cart maintenance world. I'm on here soaking it all up. Any help on the issues below would be appreciated.

1. Last night I'm driving around the neighborhood and I flip the headlight switch and the fuse blows instantly. There is a 5 AMP fuse under the seat and even after replacing I keep getting the same result. It's pretty clear that the fuse holder is worn and in need of replacement, but any ideas about what is causing this?

2. Last night I plugged in the cart and started charging it. The charger also a Yamaha 48V charger, seemed to be doing everything fine and then this morning I went down to the cart and it had stopped due to an Abnormal Cycle. I show the batteries were replaced in the cart in late 2014 and that the charger was also replaced around that time. The cart sat for about 6 months with no use before I bought it. Any ideas on how to remedy this? Are the batteries bad? I read that, my electrical issue above could be causing 2 of the batteries to be drained more than the others which could make it throw the abnormal cycle.

3. I'm also wondering about how you guys charge your carts. I'm reading run them until they are low and charge them and I'm also reading charge them after every use. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
timogsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-18-2016, 08:51 AM   #2
smallblock450sl
Sometime's............

Yamaha