lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-18-2015, 08:54 AM   #1
BDann
Not Yet Wild

Default Another Battery Question....

I'm a rookie with carts, and I've got a 36V EZGO cart that I need some battery help with. Four of the batteries are 4 year old Continentals, and read 6.18V after a full charge. The other 2 batteries are Super Starts a bit over a year old, and read 6.4V after a full charge. My range is pretty poor, and lacking ooomph.

Do I need to ditch the 4 year old batteries at this point? I'm planning on upgrading to 48v immediately, so I would be buying 6 new 6v batteries if I went that route. Or I could just buy 6 8V batteries and be done with it.

Any sage advice from the experts?
BDann is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-18-2015, 09:03 AM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Another Battery Question....

The proper fully charged reading is taken after 12 - 24 hours of rest/settling after charging. Do you need to repost your findings?
I prefer 6/8v. They weigh about 150 pounds less than 8/6v.
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 09:07 AM   #3
BDann
Not Yet Wild

I checked them a couple of times after a full charge, after waiting a minimum of 12 hours. I was hoping to save some dinero on batteries, but perhaps I should buy a whole new set.
BDann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 09:23 AM   #4
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

It is best to have all the batteries in a battery pack as closely matched as possible and practical. IE: Same brand, same model and same age.

The four 4 year old batteries are good for trade in cores, but that's about it.
If the two 1+ year old batteries are used with new batteries, the four (or six) new batteries will soon be 1+ years old also.