lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 10-21-2013, 06:33 PM   #1
SoHappyHere
Not Yet Wild

Default Can my charger float charge?

I am new at golf cart ownership, and need some advise. I bought a very old (86) golf cart, and charger. The charger is an EZ-GO Total Charger. (green and white), with a dial starting 1 on left, around to 11 top right on the top left of front, a meter on the right top front, and a red reset button on it. The owner said he kept it plugged in all the time so that the batteries are always charged. I do not see how to set this charger to do that. It charges, and at first, it's in good shape, but if I leave it there 3-4 days plugged in, and check it, it's very close to being dead. Batteries supposed to be 3 years, maybe. I would like to be able to leave it plugged in, and it will (what I understand is float charge), so it will be ready at any time. Does this charger do that? Thanks so much,
SoHappyHere is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 10-21-2013, 07:27 PM   #2
pete959
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: Can my charger float charge?

no ur charger wont do that u have to set timer to make it charge
pete959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:35 PM   #3
crash test dummy

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoHappyHere View Post
but if I leave it there 3-4 days plugged in, and check it, it's very close to being dead. Batteries supposed to be 3 years, maybe.
that would indicate your batteries are on their last leg . to test batteries put charger on 11 and let it run then check pack voltage after charger has been off for 12 hours ..then check each battery... refer to below chart as to how much your cart charged to .. post numbers for us to see ..

Old 10-21-2013, 07:40 PM   #4
crash test dummy