lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-25-2016, 04:20 PM   #1
MrRon
Not Yet Wild

Yamaha

Default Trying to determine if I need new batteries; 48V

Hi guys. I am new to the golf cart game. I made the mistake of price shopping rather than really getting picky when looking at golf carts. I was told that the Trojan T1275's were two years old, but after further inspection, there is no way they are only two years old. Either way, the cart is running fine, but I am a bit paranoid about the batteries crapping out on me. I live in a fairly large neighborhood and I would hate for my wife to take the kids to the pool using the cart (part of my justification as to why we "needed" a golf cart) and the batteries crap out on her.

I have a Yamaha YDRE 48V. Trojan T-1275's. Two of the batteries tend to maintain about 12.4-12.5 V if I am lucky. One of the other batteries is 12.2, and the other is 12.3. However, immediately after a charge they will ready close to 13V. After a couple hours of sitting they will drop to the aforementioned voltages. I have tried removing water and adding an Epsom salt mix (this actually made a 12.3V battery read 12.2, and 12.4 battery read 12.3). I bought a slow trickle charger with desulfator but after 24 hours, it still said it did not have a full charge (and I put this on after my cart charger read a full charge). I also bought a desulfator and ran that for about 12 hours with no change in voltage after charging. After a full charge and full "rest" period, my cart will read about 48.8V. No problems running - I haven't timed to see how long I can drive before the cart dies, but I have driven for about 30 minutes without any sign of dying.