lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-30-2019, 09:24 AM   #1
BryanA
Not Yet Wild

Default 04 Precedent Rear end noise

I just bought an 04 Precedent and I have noticed that when I get to full speed or I am going downhill, there is a whine coming from the rear. After doing some reading on here, I jacked the cart up and took that wheel off on the passenger side. With the cart in the air, I had my son hit the gas and I narrowed it down to the passenger side rear drum area. So then I took the drum off and the noise went away. I believe I am looking at a braking issue (which would make sense if the cart has a safety to slow the cart down (I'm new to golf carts).

So my question is, is it likely that the brakes are out of adjustment or do you think I need to replace the brakes? The pads are not new by any means.
BryanA is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-30-2019, 11:21 AM   #2
NoleFan4Ever
MOD of all BS!

Club Car

Default Re: 04 Precedent Rear end noise

Why its off, replace both sides and adjust them correctly. The "brake" you feel when you let off the pedal or down a hill is the regen brake and comes from the motor.
NoleFan4Ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 11:51 AM   #3
BryanA
Not Yet Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoleFan4Ever View Post
Why its off, replace both sides and adjust them correctly. The "brake" you feel when you let off the pedal or down a hill is the regen brake and comes from the motor.
That's what I was thinking but wanted to make sure I wasn't spending the money unnecessarily. Thanks
Old 05-03-2019, 03:25 PM   #4
BryanA
Not Yet Wild