lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 09-23-2019, 08:22 PM   #1
bhilgenkamp
Not Yet Wild

Default Cheapest speed increase for 2014 TXT48

I'm new to golf carts and really had no idea there were so many differences before I got mine. I have a 2014 EXGO TXT48 that I'd like to get a little more speed out of. What is the cheapest way to get a little extra? Tires, controller, etc? I have the stock Curtis 1206HB controller. I've read that it may be possible to unlock this controller but I'm not 100% if that is true or not. I understand that if it is possible there needs to be a key / $$ from someone with the tool to unlock it. If it is possible does anyone know about how much that costs and how much performance is gained? My neighborhood is fairly flat but one steeper hill I can tell it struggles a bit to go up so I'm afraid if I get larger tires then it'll struggle even more. Just looking for input from the experts here. Thanks!
bhilgenkamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 09-23-2019, 09:50 PM   #2
LukeL
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Cheapest speed increase for 2014 TXT48

There is a speed code that can be programmed into it by a dealer only. It increases the speed to almost 20. Hard to say if it’s worth it or not. Had it done on 2 2016 TXT48s recently.

Alltrax is the idea situation.
LukeL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 09:57 PM   #3
bhilgenkamp
Not Yet Wild

Do you mind if I ask what you paid for the programming? I'd love a new controller but not sure I can convince the wife on it quite yet.
Old 09-23-2019, 10:17 PM   #4
LukeL
Gone Wild

Club Car