lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-18-2011, 01:55 PM   #1
tbrian76
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Question 89 EZGO goes only in high speed !HELP!

I'm new to golf carts and picked up an 89 EZGO that when I first got it didn't work at all. I replaced the old batteries and gave it a full charge. The first time I pushed the accelerator there were a lot of sparks from the solenoid and the thing took off on me into the wall. I learned the importance of having it on blocks. Now it runs but only goes in high speed. Once it goes I can't turn it off even with the key in off position. I had to disconnect battery to stop it last time. After reading hundreds of posts I was hoping someone would have a suggestion. Bad Solenoid? Controller? Potentiometer? Stuck Throttle? I don't even know where to begin.
tbrian76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-18-2011, 09:24 PM   #2
jonnymoon5
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 89 EZGO goes only in high speed !HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbrian76 View Post
I'm new to golf carts and picked up an 89 EZGO that when I first got it didn't work at all. I replaced the old batteries and gave it a full charge. The first time I pushed the accelerator there were a lot of sparks from the solenoid and the thing took off on me into the wall.
First, Welcome to the forum!

Second, seems like your solenoid is welded. this means the voltage is constantly flowing through it, key on or off, pedal pushed or not. this is a very dangerous problem and it can burn the cart and the building its stored in if not corrected. i had the same problem when i replaced 3 of my batteries and it wasn't used to a regular voltage in the pack. a solenoid is definitely a minimal price in the long run.
good luck!
-jm5