lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-30-2019, 05:49 PM   #1
den458
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default Equalizing batteries - how much is possible?

Am interested in applying what I've read here on battery equalization, but I wonder how far out of equalization can be remedied.

Retired newbie here, engineering background, have new-to-me 48V '99 Club Car DS, 6x8V batteries of indeterminate age & Powerdrive battery charger.

Bought used, sat idle 3 months, initial battery voltage was ~ 36V as I found it. Topped cells properly with distilled water & placed on charger. Charged 5-6 hours, initial rate ~ 16A gradually decreasing to 6A, but goes no lower, did not self shut-off.

I've not tried charging continuously overnight, though I will later if necessary, but I think battery voltage imbalance is the show-stopper right now.

On power up, the battery charger does turn on for ~ 10 seconds, goes off briefly then on again for good.

Battery voltage with charger connected ~ 56.9V, battery voltage with charger removed ~52,6V, next day voltage with cart unused ~48.6V.

Looking at individual battery voltages, cart having sat unused 2 days, ranged 7.90, 7.91, 8.09, 8.10, 8.21, 8.28V. Those are for batteries 1-6 in order, so interesting that voltages are progressively higher, from the red cable connection to the black cable connection.

Based on the JohnnieB SOC chart for 8V batteries, my various batteries are charged between 30% & 80%, & seem to charge no further.

I may be wrong, but I'm guessing the higher charged batteries begin boiling while the poorest charged batteries lack power to continue charging. Though my charger never shuts down, I'm hoping installing the voltage bypass circuits will help the poorer charging batteries to "catch-up" some.