lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-20-2020, 11:54 AM   #1
mikedb
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default cw clutch on ccw motor

Hello
I have a new to me 1994 carryall. The primary clutch sheave is badly worn.
The most common replacement clutch I can find are the cw rotation 1997 + clutches.My engine turns ccw
Can this be used. and what if any changes would have to be made internally to allow it to work properly?
Or is there another brand of clutch I could use as an replacement. I am a machinist with my own equipment, if mods are required.
mikedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-20-2020, 12:19 PM   #2
oldphart
Getting Wild

Club Car

Default Re: cw clutch on ccw motor

The primary doesn't know the difference between CW and CCW....the secondary is another story. If the shaft size is right, it should work fine.

Jim
oldphart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 02:01 PM   #3
mikedb
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Thankyou
Old 03-20-2020, 03:58 PM   #4
CP241
Nincompoop village idiot

Club Car

I believe theres some anti-chatter pads in there so it may make a little more noise, but I've got one on my 93 carryall and no problems. Just bolted it on and havent looked back since.
CP241 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2020, 04:37 PM   #5
Fairtax4me
Bonafide Nincompoop

Club Car

The only difference in the drive clutch direction is the direction the take-up spring is installed under the clutch buttons, Or button because there should only be one take-up spring.