lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-27-2020, 12:57 PM   #1
LESSOR2
Not Yet Wild

Default 2009 Yamaha model YDRE Surge at Low Speeds

Hello,
I am new to Electric carts. I have a 2009 Yamaha model YDRE/ JW2-F4236-30. It's 48V. The cart surges when slowly depressing the pedal from a start position or when the cart is slowly rolling. A very slight press of the pedal and the cart surges. I actually dumped someone off the back seat last weekend, fortunately wasn't hurt. I am by means an expert with carts but I do have knowledge in how speed controllers work as I use them in a smaller, lower voltage applications. I suspect the speed controller has a problem evenly adding voltage to the motor as needed. I am a long way from a qualified repair dealer so I am looking for any advice on if I am on the right track of diagnosis.
Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Brent
LESSOR2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-27-2020, 01:31 PM   #2
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Default Re: 2009 Yamaha model YDRE Surge at Low Speeds

First, make sure the motor speed sensor is operating. Push the cart, it should beep at you & resist motion (should "push back").
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2020, 07:12 PM   #3
LESSOR2
Not Yet Wild

Roger that cgtech. Test complete:

When I push the cart I hear a relay activate and the cart definitely fights me. What to look for next?