lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-27-2011, 05:55 PM   #1
Cyclone
Not Yet Wild

Default 1983 G1 vibrates terribly at low speeds

Hey everyone!!!

I'm new to golf cart ownership and ultimately this forum. I recently purchased a 1983 Yamaha G1. After driving it on weekends for about 3 weeks it began vibrating horribly at low speeds (1-5 mph roughly) and feels like it is coming from under the drivers seat. Once it gets past "low gear" it runs very smooth and is FAST (20-25mph). I'm afraid to drive it right now because I'm afraid to cause more damage.

I've used WD-40 on incline ramps and spring inside the sliding sheave which helped smooth the transition from slow to fast speed, but the vibration still remains. I feel like it could be the drive belt, but the vibration seems far too intense to just be a belt. Does anyone have any experience with this sort of vibration? If so, any information would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-27-2011, 06:27 PM   #2
smallblock450sl
Sometime's............

Yamaha

Default Re: 1983 G1 vibrates terribly at low speeds

I would think you have wornout/busted motor mounts, but could also be primary or secondary clutch bushings are worn out.
smallblock450sl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 08:40 PM   #3
Cyclone
Not Yet Wild

Thanks, Smallblock. I've been thinking that it is something to do with the clutch because it rides REALLY smooth once it gets past 5mph or so. It also idles without the vibration. Am I looking a full clutch disassembly to inspect the bushings?
Old 06-28-2011, 12:08 AM   #4
caddylac camper
Gone Wild

Yamaha