lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-10-2020, 01:27 PM   #1
FollyBeachEZRider
Not Yet Wild

Default '97 EZGo low power mystery

Hey y'all - I've been scouring the forum for the last month as I work through each step on this - thank you for all the passive help already. Now I'm stumped.

Back story, warranted to not waste y'alls' time: I bought this cart from my neighbor and immediately fixed the stuck accelerator cable - was feeling pretty good about the easy fix and the good deal. It's my first cart. I cleaned up all the rust and painted it blue and made her pretty. I grew up working on air-cooled VWs so I'm not a complete noob but I'm no expert. But the cart was a little sluggish, and neighbor shows me how to tighten the starter belt. I tighten it up to what feels like 3/8 inch deflection and the thing runs great for a few days, tops out around 25 mph. Then one day it's hard to start, and once it's running it has no power - like 5-7 mph tops.

•*I took off the air filter and sprayed carb cleaner in the carb (I have not removed the carb and thoroughly cleaned it). Didn't help.
•*I adjusted the valves to .005 (saw recommendations for .004 and .006) - they were pretty much already there, so it didn't help. Compression is 130-140 in both cylinders.
•*I changed the plugs.
•*I was suspicious of exhaust blockage, but the muffler is rusted on. I'd have to cut it off and drill out the screws and cut new threads to put a new one on. It's putting consistently out of the top of the muffler when it's running so I feel good about that (I removed the pipe that neighbor had taped onto that, if my pictures successfully post).