lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-04-2018, 09:27 PM   #1
Canuck2400
Getting Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Reed switch problems

Hello all -- I'm brand new at this, I had a 2007 EZGO cart given to me
problem is the wire harness and the controller were burnt-- I have installed
a new Curtis controller and solenoid along with a new ignition switch -- after
all that, still nothing when I try to get it going . I have read on some threads here that the reed switch sometimes fail, the switch on my cart only has the
two heavier wires that go to the batteries, and there is only one other wire
its a smaller red one that goes to the controller , is there anyway to check the switch -- all others switches I've read about have 2 wires to connect together
to bypass the switch, sorry if this is a repetitive question but look forward
to some help
Canuck2400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-05-2018, 06:52 AM   #2
VanillaXtract
Getting Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: Reed switch problems

The white and black wires are your charging connections. The red wire checks to see if you are plugged in and charging.

Take the red wire and make sure it is connected to a switched voltage source. Make sure you know that when you do this there is nothing stopping you from driving off while plugged in.
VanillaXtract is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 09:19 AM   #3
Canuck2400
Getting Wild
E-Z-GO

Thank you for the response--- not a problem making sure it isn't plugged in, I have to climb over charger to get to the cart --- thanks again, I'll try and decide where to connect it.
Old 06-05-2018, 10:06 AM   #4
mgray70
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

It doesn't have to be a switched voltage source. A lot of people takes it directly to the main battery+ post.